The sacraments of the Church were instituted by Christ the Lord as signs and means by which God is worshipped, our faith is expressed and strengthened, and the salvation of the faithful is brought about.

The Sacrament of Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit and the door which gives access to the other Sacraments.

Download the application for baptism in English or Spanish.

Infant Baptism (infants and children under the age of seven) is the normative way to begin the initiation of children into the Church. Parents should:

  • Contact the parish as soon as possible after the birth of their child
  • Bring the childís birth certificate
  • Attend baptismal preparation presentation

Only one Godparent is required for Baptism. The Godparent must be:

  • Designated by the parents or the one who takes their place
  • Have completed their sixteenth year
  • Be a practicing Catholic who has been confirmed, has already received the sacrament of the Eucharist, and leads a life in harmony with the faith and the role to be undertaken
  • If married, in a valid Catholic marriage
  • Not bound by any canonical penalty
  • Not be the mother or the father of the one to be baptized.
  • Complete the Baptism Sponsor Covenant form

Adult Baptism Adults seeking full initiation into the Catholic Church enter the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA). Their formation prepares them to receive all three initiation sacraments at the Easter Vigil. The process ideally extends through a complete liturgical year to allow sufficient time for instruction in the truths of the faith and Christian life. Adults baptized in another faith tradition take part in the RCIA process. Adults baptized Catholic but who have not received instruction also are part of the RCIA process. Persons in RCIA are required to have a Godparent or Sponsor. The qualifications for the Godparent/Sponsor are the same as listed in the Infant Baptism section. They will also need to complete a Godparent/Sponsor covenant form. Contact the parish at 836-4441 to inquire about the RCIA process.

Confession obtains pardon for the offense committed against God, and at the same time reconcils one with the Church. The Sacrament consists of four parts:

  • The examination of conscience
  • The confessing of sins to the priest
  • The absolution and contrition
  • The completion of the penance given by the priest

Regular participation in the Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation and the confession of venial sins helps us to form our conscience, fight against evil tendencies, let ourselves be healed by Christ and progress in the life if the Spirit. Church law states that after having attained the use of discretion each of the faithful is bound by an obligation to confess serious sins at least once a year.

Holy Communion is the source and summit of the Christian life, the Lordís own sacrifice. In the blessed Eucharist is contained the whole spiritual good of the Church, namely Christ himself. It is communion in the divine life. It is the culmination both of Godís action sanctifying the world in Christ and of the worship offered to Christ. Eucharist completes the Christian Initiation. Liturgical action of Eucharist is also known as the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass. It is central to our Christian faith. Holy Communion has a more complete form as a sign when it is received under both species of bread and wine. Catholics are encouraged to receive the Holy Eucharist regularly. First Holy Communion is given to children who have reached the age of reason (seven years of age and in the second grade). Requirements are:

  • Parents must provide proof that the child was baptized in the Catholic Church
  • The child must attend a preparation program provided at the parish
  • Parents are the primary educators of children in the Catholic faith and should take an active part in First Communion preparation
  • The child will also be prepared for First Confession

Confirmation is one of the Initiation sacraments (Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist). Confirmation is the special outpouring of the Holy Spirit which brings an increase and deepening of baptismal grace. It unites us more firmly to Christ. It increases the gifts of the Holy Spirit. It renders a more perfect bond with the Church. It gives us special strength of the Holy Spirit to spread and defend the faith. Every baptized person who is not yet confirmed can and should receive the sacrament of Confirmation. Adolescents who were baptized as an infant or toddler receive Confirmation in the 10th-11th grade. The Bishop is the ordinary minister of Confirmation. A recent baptismal certificate is required so the reception of the sacrament can be duly recorded at the church of baptism. Adults seeking Confirmation should contact the parish at 836-4441 for more information.

Matrimony is the covenant by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership of the whole of life, by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of children; this covenant between baptized persons has been raised by Christ to the dignity of a sacrament. The couple should contact the parish as soon as they have made the decision to marry. The couple must receive appropriate education and pastoral preparation through participation in a marriage preparation program approved by the Diocese. Baptized Catholics must present a recently issued, annotated baptismal certificate. Baptized non-Catholics must present satisfactory proof of baptism and freedom to marry. Unbaptized persons must present satisfactory proof of freedom to marry.

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time. There are three degrees of ordination: Episcopate- Bishop, Presbyterate-Priest , Diaconate-Deacon. A deacon can be transitional, that is a step in the process of ordination to the priesthood,or permanent deacon which can be conferred on Married men who are ordained to ministry and service.

Anointing of the sick commends those who are ill to the suffering and glorified Lord, that he may raise them up and save them. The anointing of the sick can be administered to a member of the faithful whose health is seriously impaired by sickness or old age. The sacrament can be repeated if the sick person recovers and then becomes gravely ill or if the condition becomes graver during the same illness. Viaticum is the Eucharist received by a dying person. It is the spiritual food for the journey to the Father. Communion as Viaticum constitutes the last sacraments of the Christian.